Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Pregnancy with a toddler

(8 Posts)
Timpani Sat 19-Oct-13 16:43:30

I'm 25 weeks so still a long way to go and am struggling. I have an 18mo DC. I work as a teacher 3 dpw. DH is also a teacher full time.

So how do I manage? I have PGP on and off (as in sometimes it's agony, others it's fine). My DC wakes at 5:30 every day.

I'm just so tired. How much does your DH do? I feel like I'm putting on him loads and I can tell he's annoyed about it but I'm bloody knackered. The thrice nightly wees have started, plus my cd doesn't always sleep through and I'm still BF him.

Any tips? What should I 'expect' DH to do, do you think?

louiseanna12 Sat 19-Oct-13 16:48:28

I think it's fair for a women to be selfish during pregnancy.

Tea1Sugar Sat 19-Oct-13 17:07:51

Similar boat though you're much further on. I'm 13+4, dd is 3, I work full time as a teacher and I'm beyond exhausted. Dp pulls his weight but feel like I'm treading water all the time.

cravingcake Sat 19-Oct-13 20:08:34

Its bloody hard work. I'm 26 weeks and a full time mum to a 2yo (this week - eeekkk) full-on toddler. Every part of my body aches, I'm knackered all the time and the hormones and emotions are all over the place.

My DH is pretty good, but I do find I have to tell him things rather than asking. I do my best to carry on with normal day to day things and housework but some days I just cant. He knows not to have a go at me if the dishwasher hasn't been emptied, or dinner isn't started (as an example) as I will just lash out at him and tell him to do it himself, he has arms and legs and is fully capable of doing it, and to strap a bowling ball to his stomach at the same time to know how much harder things are starting to become.

I am lucky that I can ask the grandparents to take my DS for a few hours if I need a break. And I am relying on Cbeebies and Disney films a lot.