Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

17 weeks pregnant, drinking all that time...

(13 Posts)
SozzledandSorry Tue 25-Jan-11 21:18:56

Hi,

Am desperate for some reassurance here...

I recently discovered I am pregnant - the thing is, I am almost 17 weeks... had absolutely no idea, have been on the pill with periods as per usual (though mine are really irregular and erratic) and no symptoms.

Have been really busy with work/life so didn't twig until recently when I started busting out of my clothes! shock I know, I can't believe how daft I am either.

Huge shock to discover I was pregnant. But happy all the same - I really want this baby.

But here's the thing - I have been drinking for the past four months. Fortunately, I am not a binge drinker or anything like that. Even more fortunately, I was a bit sick over Christmas so didn't indulge as I usually would've.

Thinking back and doing frantic maths, I reckon I've probably had about eight to ten standard drinks every week. I remember only feeling tipsy on one occasion - not fall-down-drunk, just a bit merry.

Can anyone offer any advice, reassurance, stories of similar?

StewieGriffinsMom Tue 25-Jan-11 21:23:23

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

StewieGriffinsMom Tue 25-Jan-11 21:24:51

GoAwaySnow Tue 25-Jan-11 21:29:55

Firstly congratulations! I was a surprise pregnancy when.Mum was 22, she only found out when she gave birth to me in January (so right after Xmas drinks!) My Mum also wasn't a heavy drinker, just a couple at the weekend.

Wishing you a happy and healthy pregnancy.

Bluntly, the good news is that the amount you describe isn't anywhere near enough to cause Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. You need to be a very heavy drinker to be even close to that. The not so good news is that alcohol intake can slightly increase some risks. Note the word slightly.