Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

What are the rules about taking sick leave before maternity leave? Is it possible?

(21 Posts)
SarahScotChristmasSpirit Fri 31-Dec-10 21:35:52

I'm planning on working up until I am 37 weeks. I did this with my first pg and was fine. However, I have pgp/spd and am in pain after walking/standing too long. As a teacher I can't actually avoid having to stand and move around a lot and still be able to do my job. If I went off work earlier because of the pelvic pain would it have to be as maternity leave or could it be sick leave if the GP signed me off? I really don't want to have to use up much mat leave before the baby is born as I can't afford to take much time off as it is - 5 months max.

Anyone know how this works?

FessaEst Fri 31-Dec-10 21:38:27

Any sick leave you take before 36 weeks has to be counted as sick leave, and cannot be treated as a disciplinary issue. However, mat leave has to start on the first day of sickness post 36 weeks.

Good luck.

CrispyTheChristmasCracker Fri 31-Dec-10 21:38:47

From memory they can force the start of your ML if you are sick - can't remember from which week though. However, i had placenta praevia and was signed off from 31 weeks and my employer only started my ML from the date DD1 was born (36 weeks). I think i was quite lucky though, and hadn't told them when i was expecting to start ML and they didn't enforce the early start of ML

TheBibiJesus Fri 31-Dec-10 21:38:54

I think if it happens in the last month before your due date, your maternity leave starts automatically, but hopefully someone can come along and correct me soon if I'm wrong.

ceebeegeebies Fri 31-Dec-10 21:39:13

It can be sick leave until 36 weeks then if you were still sick for maternity-related reasons (which it clearly is), your maternity leave would automatically commence then.

Hth smile