Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Pregnancy tests

(12 Posts)
brunotheboxer Tue 28-Sep-10 11:53:02

hi just wondering if anybody can help me pls, i have 2 children (6&3) and ive had 8 miscarriages, latest in jan this year.
i took 2 tests yesterday and they came back postive so went to the docs this morning and she did 2 tests and they both were negative, so i went and bought i clear blue and it said "not pregnant".

i dont understand as the first 2 were postive!!!

pls help

excitedmummy2be Tue 28-Sep-10 12:05:14

Maybe a chemical pregnancy? I'm not an expert but I believe an egg can be fertilised and then you a positive... But it never embeds. Hence the next neg test. Prob best to look it up as I'm not sure that's exactly how it works. I think sometimes these tests that show a result so early are a really bad thing. I'm sorry to hear this and for all your previous MCs.

brunotheboxer Tue 28-Sep-10 12:10:50

Thanks- is that an early miscarriage??

emmyloo2 Tue 28-Sep-10 12:30:11

Bruno - I had the same thing. I used First Response and got a positive. Got all excited. Then tried again the next day with First Response and got a negative. Had blood tests and came back negative. Few days later tried the Clear blue and got a positive. Then back off to the doctors and did a urine test there which came back negative. Then did another Clearblue and it came back positive. Am now 34 weeks.

Basically - I was testing too early and so the tests were all over the shop. Could you wait a few days and test again? I found First Response were the most sensitive. It even showed a positive when the blood tests came back negative.

brunotheboxer Tue 28-Sep-10 12:36:48

Thanks emmyloo, im going to wait a couple of days and test again cause i feel pregnant, ie sore boobs, feeling sick and tired all the time.