Not sure if I'm doing the right thing

(6 Posts)
plea4625 Mon 21-Mar-16 15:20:42

I started training with my 2 year old daughter a week ago. We have had Potty dotted round the house for months so she was aware it was coming. She has been showing all the signs for a good few months and tells me if she needs her nappy changed so I thought we'd give it a go.

so far NO good. We haven't got anything in the potty yet. She doesn't particularly like not wearing a nappy so we compromise with pants. She understands what she has to do and has told me a few times she needs to go so we run to the potty but nothing. She will then pee 5 mins later all over the floor. (My house stinks!!!!)

I have tried to put her on the potty every 30 mins but she refuses to sit on it at regular intervals so that's not an option.

She goes to nursery twice a week and they have suggested pull ups. I have bought some but she sees this as a licence to wee and doesn't bother telling me she needs to wee when she is wearing one. I think it's confusing for her but nursery don't seem up for helping to train her. So last week we trained Monday, Wednesday, Fri/Sat and Sunday but the days she went to nursery she wore nappies.
I don't have a clean run at it with work/childcare so I just worry it's going to take ages!!

I'm wondering if I should stop and just wait a bit longer or will this make matters worse?

It's really stressing me out because all of my friends girls were potty trained within a week or two. She is so advanced in other areas but just doesn't seem to grasp this.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

dementedpixie Mon 21-Mar-16 15:27:21

Of you are not being successful at all yet then I would stop and wait a few weeks and then try again. Has she done any in the potty at all?

bikingintherain Mon 21-Mar-16 15:30:49