Bedroom Tax WILL affect pensioners and from April 2013

(6 Posts)
niceguy2 Wed 17-Apr-13 22:43:58

First I've heard about it and I am too tired to go read a blog of 6 pages of A4 but it always struck me as strange that pensioners were excluded from the original so called 'bedroom tax' anyway given they are the probably the biggest group of people living in properties larger than they need.

Well, it's not THAT strange. We all know what the real reason is. And that is because pensioners generally vote Tory, are very well organised in lobbying their MP's and have the time to do so. No major party will want to risk alienating the grey vote which is a real shame given that until we do, we cannot be seriously trying to tackle our deficit.

PearlyWhites Tue 16-Apr-13 20:16:15

Lol
Different bungalows

natsmum100 Thu 21-Feb-13 07:12:32

But are there suitable smaller properties available?

(Why are the 5 pensioners sharing a bed
room if they have a 3 bed bungalow?)

I'm no expert, I just know there are at least 5 pensioners round me, who share a bedroom in a very big 3 bed bungalow, I have 2 kids in a two bed, and think it's unfair.

dreamingofsun Thu 14-Feb-13 11:48:05

surely this is helping another family that has outgrown its current space by freeing up larger properties? assuming the couple in the example move to a smaller council place. I think its a bit unreasonable for them to expect to have a larger house (and for it to be heavily subsidised by the taxpayer) so their grandchildren can stay when they visit.

i agree it seems a bit pointless to force people to move if we are only talking a relatively small amount of space. But in instances where there are 2 or more bedrooms that aren't used (except for occasional visits) it seems a sensible way to use the limited housing stock.

Speyejoe Wed 13-Feb-13 20:59:04