Guinea pig care

(6 Posts)
kathywith10 Mon 31-Dec-12 14:25:58

I know many of you are experienced guinea pig owners. Can you give me some advice? We just acquired two female guinea pigs and are getting to know them. How can we minimize the odor? My husband is already talking about moving them outdoors and it has been less than 24 hours. I would like them to remain indoors confined to just one room at one end of the house which he doesn't need to go into. But, he claims he can smell them and he doesn't want the room to get a permanent odor. He is suggesting a outside hutch. The problem is I live in a subtropical climate and it is warm all year long. I worry about the heat and humidy as piggies don't sweat. Also, I have read that they might not be as sociable outdoors. What do you suggest to minimize the odor or, if I do have to send them out, how can I keep them cool?

Curlybrunette Tue 01-Jan-13 21:53:39

Hi,
I am quite new to piggies, we only got our first pair in November, but they do live indoors so I know what you mean about a smell. It's not the piggies that smell, it's the wee and hay.
We have a litter tray lined with newspaper and a bit of hay, as well as a hay box (again lined with newspaper) which is filled with hay. These both get changed daily as they wee in them both (especially the litter tray). I've also started buying dust free hay which although is more expensive than normal hay, it doesn't smell as strongly. Not sure if you can get anything like that where you live?
Our piggies live on incontinence pads covered with a fleece blanket, I tidy round remove poo at least once a day, and change the fleece and pads every 3 days. This seems to keep the smell at bay.

HTH
x

kathywith10 Tue 01-Jan-13 23:03:30