Can anyone explain the use of 'self'?

(18 Posts)
WestieMamma Mon 19-Aug-13 18:50:49

I can't read this thread as it's making me twitch.

PoppyAmex Sun 11-Aug-13 18:36:24

"I work in HR and they call all the time trying to sell me candidates and they are the WORSE culprits for this."

Shouldn't they be the "WORST"?

AlyssB Sun 11-Aug-13 18:34:30

Recruitment Agencies. I work in HR and they call all the time trying to sell me candidates and they are the WORSE culprits for this. It makes me very cross!

campion Thu 01-Aug-13 01:41:08

It's because lots of people don't know when to use 'I' and 'me' in a sentence, so overcompensate.

I feel your pain too, Jessie.I regularly am confronted with notices telling me to 'speak to Mildred or I' or 'have a word with myself' ... and I'm a teacher!shock

imademarion Fri 12-Jul-13 17:54:06

DS3's Y1 teacher did it all the time. He's lucky I didn't punch himself.

I feel your pain.

I took my kids out to supper last night and was asked, "so, what can I get for yourselves?"

And later, "if there's anything else, just ask myself."

Theirselves didn't care as they were snarfing bread, ourselves did a little look between us.

JessieMcJessie Fri 12-Jul-13 17:48:55

Miranda. It is NOT the way we all speak in Scotland!

I live in a former British colony where it is not uncommon to see a letter beginning "Further to our conversation with your good selves". " Good" does not make it any better smile.

I once agonised over choosing a financial advisor. Wrote to the one I picked and his email came back "I am very pleased that you have decided to transfer your business to myself". I was a hair's breadth from firing him instantly.

It's hyper correction by people who were taught not to say " me and John went to the shop". They get all scared of "me" . As they bloody should be, if I get a hold of them wink

caroldecker Sun 07-Jul-13 02:10:16

the first three of these all expalin when it is appropriate

Butterflywgs Sun 07-Jul-13 01:56:58