How much support will I need in baby's first few weeks

(20 Posts)
wellthisisnew Fri 06-May-16 17:14:39

Hello, This is my first post so hopefully I'm posting in the correct place.

My baby is due in a few weeks and I'm concerned that perhaps I need some support. I have no family who can be around to help, and my partner isn't taking paternity leave. My friends all work so although they're lovely I can't rely on them. I'm wondering if I should hire some help in to get me through the first few weeks? Do you think this will be helpful, and if so how many hours, days should I be looking for?

It's not that I want someone else to look after my child - I want to be a completely hands on mum - it's just that without a partner or family around I'm wondering if I'm being unrealistic.

And, I've never done this before so despite all the books I've read and classes I've attended I guess I'm a bit naive as to what's needed!

Thank you in advance for reading my post.

Frazzled2207 Fri 06-May-16 17:27:52

If you can afford it do get some paid help, though firstly why is your partner not taking PL (self-employed?).
Chances are baby will want near constant cuddles/feeds when born which is fine as you can do that but things like making food for yourself, washing will be very difficult without help.
You will also likely need someone to cuddle the baby while you nap as you may be exhausted.
I had a difficult vaginal birth and was physically in a very bad way for at least a week.
Whatever you do stock up on easy freezer food or batch cook before baby arrives. Eating well in those first weeks is important, especially if you're breastfeeding

Frazzled2207 Fri 06-May-16 17:30:21

Sorry re-read my post you may have an easy birth and an easy newborn in which case you may well be fine! Obviously you can't predict but I couldn't have coped without very hands on dad on PL.

wellthisisnew Fri 06-May-16 17:37:50