returning to work - what worked for you?

(16 Posts)
chumbler Wed 05-Aug-15 00:40:11

I'm thinking about asking to go part time when my mat leave runs out. dh would love me to do 3 days where DD would be looked after by grandma. but I'm considering asking for 2 days / 2 and a half. at the moment i cant bare the thought of being without her!

what works for you?

PuppyMummy Wed 05-Aug-15 09:57:31

probably not much help because I work full time and ds goes to nursery 5 days a week.

I am a teacher though so he is with me mostly during the holidays.

I couldn't do my job part time (and wouldn't want to) so it works very well for us.

CognitiveIllusion Wed 05-Aug-15 10:42:03

Opposite of the previous poster - I was a SAHM until my youngest started school.

It really is whatever works for you!

Jedi1 Wed 05-Aug-15 10:45:19

3 days when I first went back - now they're older I do three full days and two half days. Two days a week would not have been supported by my business so no really an option but personally I think it would be too little time to keep continuity at work anyway.

Nolim Wed 05-Aug-15 10:46:26

I work ft and wouldnt want it any other way.
As long as you have reliable childcare do what works for you.

qumquat Wed 05-Aug-15 12:33:39

As others have said, it's whatever works for you. I had horrible Pnd which lifted as soon as I got back to work; it sounds like your feelings about going back are quite different! I went for 4 days a week because 5 days a week realistically means 6 days as a teacher (Sundays spent planning/marking) and i felt that was too much.

Writerwannabe83 Wed 05-Aug-15 13:07:12

I am full time but over three days. I returned to work when DS was 10 months old. He's now 16 months old.

Due to my shifts, on those three days I only see DS for 20 minutes. Those 20 minutes are in the morning before I leave for work. I don't get home until 9pm so he's obviously in bed by then. I don't particularly like it but that's just how it is.