Breast feeding during the day and bottle at night

(9 Posts)
GEM33 Mon 31-Dec-12 13:55:18

hey lyns, i agree with emsyj, the breast and bottle feeding topic is a good place to get more advice if you like.
You can safely co sleep if you dont drink or smoke and follow a safe co sleeping guide. H/v dont really talk about it but ask for a leaflet on safe co sleeping. I reckon its one of the survival tools of breast feeding!!

emsyj Mon 31-Dec-12 13:47:52

I think you have to be a bit careful with this one as night time is when your body makes its orders for how much milk to make the next day. You can get more info probably by posting on the Breast & Bottle Feeding board, and I am not a trained expert, but this is what I have read. It also bears out my personal experience which was that, as soon as I night weaned my DD (albeit she was much older than 3 months and was also on solids, so not exclusively taking milk by then) my supply pretty much dried up within about 3 days.

I am currently expecting DC2 and am exhausted at the mere prospect of the sleepless nights that will be starting in a few weeks' time (all being well). It's a really tough time!!! I do plan to offer an expressed bottle every day in the evening this time to try and get a bit of a break and a hot bath/dinner whilst DH takes over for a short while, and after the first couple of months I will think about giving a bottle of formula at bedtime - but I am wary of replacing all night feeds with expressed or formula simply because of the supply issue.

If you want to consider a bedtime bottle of formula, do post again on the feeding board for some proper advice - there are lots of posters on there who have real life training and expertise and can give you information and links to further reading about this before you decide what to do.

Iggly Mon 31-Dec-12 13:44:41