Fatally Flawed

(19 Posts)
trevthesparky Sat 04-Aug-12 12:56:44

Hi guys, I'm an electrician and I'm here to draw your attention to a campaign that the industry has been putting a lot of effort into. The campaign homepage is at http://www.fatallyflawed.org.uk/
The gist of it is that many plug in devices eg socket covers, air fresheners etc are inherently dangerous and should be regulated
Please take the time to read through it and if you agree with our aims please support us by signing our epetition at
http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/36699
And spread the word to your friends and through facebook, twitter etc
As you will see from the homepage we have the support of Adam Hart Davis, a well respected broadcaster and engineer.
Thanks for taking the time to read so far

Smurfy1 Sat 04-Aug-12 21:14:39

Fantastic just signed the petition

SecrectFarleysNibbler Sun 05-Aug-12 11:54:45

Just read the web page and was gob smacked! You think you are doing the right thing buying these - just been and removed them all. Thanks for the heads up - will sign the petition too.

ZuleikaD Sun 05-Aug-12 12:10:06

trev if you come back - what do you do if you have a mixture of old and new sockets? Getting down on hands and knees I can't see the 'shutters' inside some of the older ones (live in a Victorian house) - are they still safer without covers?

CarolinesDad Sun 05-Aug-12 13:49:56

The shutters were an essential part of the design when the flat-pin BS 1363 socket was introduced in back in 1947! Unless you have old round pin sockets (for which no one makes socket covers) then your sockets will have shutters

FatallyFlawed has an FAQ about checking if theshutters are working which you may find helpful. www.fatallyflawed.org.uk/html/faq.html#Q10

Modern round pin sockets, which are still occasionally used in the UK, also have shutters.

trevthesparky Mon 06-Aug-12 13:18:17