What do 6 year old girls like?

(16 Posts)
lulabelle Fri 11-Mar-11 13:30:48

I need to buy a present for a girl who will be 6, I have all boys and no idea what girls are into. All ideas will be gratefully received after a very unsuccessful shopping morning!

chocolateshoes Fri 11-Mar-11 13:38:25

i'm no expert as have DS but I always buy girls stuff from Accessorize eg bags, hair stuff, funky tights etc

Fennel Fri 11-Mar-11 13:40:58

my 3 girls all like a lot of the same things that boys like - they aren't a separate species. (2 of my dds loathe hair bobbles or girly stuff, don't assume all girls are into frilly accessories).

Mine at 6 have liked art and craft stuff, games, lego, playmobil, geomag, messy stuff like dinosaur swamp kits, science kits, puzzle books, skateboards and accessories.

Loopymumsy Fri 11-Mar-11 14:09:22

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

eileenslightlytotheleft Fri 11-Mar-11 14:33:32

Animals. Pink and princesses are out in my house, and animals and blue are in. As are all factual books - Usborne is great for these - science kits, sticker books. Arts and crafts are always a winner with my girls.

Alwaysworthchecking Fri 11-Mar-11 14:38:25

At 6 (she's now 7.5) dd was just outgrowing princesses and growing into High School Musical and Hannah Montana. She loved stuff for her hair, bags, books (Rainbow Magic goes down well with that age group), stationery (notebooks have always been received gladly). She's always been happy with a Barbie. GoGos and Silly Banz are very 'in' at the moment.

Hope that helps.

Alwaysworthchecking Fri 11-Mar-11 14:40:20

Oh - and she was and is into playing 'Spies' so a toy spy kit was both well-receivd and much envied by her friends. Skipping ropes also go down well as they are just starting to master it by this age.

Fennel Fri 11-Mar-11 15:05:07

I'm glad to hear Enchanted Forest is popular, I bought it for my 6yo dd's next birthday but don't really know if it's any good.