Bad driving lessons and confidence problems

(8 Posts)
Monipop84 Sat 09-May-15 10:05:10

Hello fellow Mumsnetters! I am a mature driving student (31 female). I was raised on a pretty remote island and no one in my family drives. After living for a few years in London, I moved to the countryside and learning to drive has become an imperative necessity for me.

I passed the theory test first time, but then I have always been good at theoretical tests... neutral The practice, though, is taking absolutely ages. I have now had lessons for a year and a half with an instructor plus private practice in my partner's car (I mostly drive back from work and to the shops in his car, so it's always the same route, but the rush hour traffic does miracles for clutch control!). I am also practicing manouvres on my own and I would say I can do most of them fairly decently.

The issue is, my instructor is very negative about my progress. I still have problems at very big roundabouts and keeping in the right lane at big roundabouts, which I'm working on.

Last week, though, I had the worst lesson ever. My instructor has just come back from an assessment test and she's started picking up on things she never used to before. Now she wants to bring me back to do junctions because she thinks my mirror-signal-manouvre is not good enough (it never seemed to be a problem before, or at least she didn't comment on it).

I am starting to feel like I should give up and my confidence is quite shattered. I was feeling great last month as for the first time I drove in my partner's car to see a relative who lives 2 hours away, and I did lots of roundabouts, dual carriageways, overtaking etc, on major roads, all on my own. grin But now my instructor wants me to go back to junctions in the local village. After 2 years. hmm