Ever feel like you don't fit in?

(9 Posts)
Ridersofthestorm Fri 05-Apr-13 15:56:42

Do any of you feel like you don't fit in anywhere? I do. Maybe it's all in my head.
I come from a normal northern working class background I am not particularly clever went to a local comprehensive. I was never pushed in my life to be academic or anything like that. Although as a child I always loved learning new things particularly history. My parents just wanted me to be happy but had no other particular aspirations.
I took my a levels and wanted to go to university but had teachers who told me I wasn't good enough to get into a university that did the degree I wanted. I took a couple of years out after my a levels working in a shop which made me realise I wanted something more.
I got my degree in 2004 which I was very proud of as i was the first in my family. I have moved from my hometown (not for work but for a relationship and i miss my hometown so much) and I now work in what I would call a very middle class profession.
All the people I encounter are well spoken articulate and very clever. I just feel so inadequate next to them because I have a very distinctive accent (which I love and am very proud of btw and would never change). I just feel like I can never fit in amongst them, my humour is often different and some see my manner as quite harsh (I am not I can't help it I talk passionately about things and tend to say what I think a bit too much).
It's totally knocked my confidence as some people can't understand what I am saying and I hate how I sound next to them. I know I shouldn't feel like this but I can't help it.
I long to go home were people don't look at you because you talk different. But now I find I don't fit in back home sometimes too.
Most of my family can't talk about things I have an interest in such as history etc so I just play dumb.