Note: This topic is for discussing other products (that don't have their own sub-topic). If you do want to buy or sell, use our For sale section.

Coconut oil for hair

(16 Posts)
twinsymom Thu 15-Sep-16 16:56:24

Would like to know if anyone has used this to treat dry hair. If so how did you use it and what were the results? Thank you

DramaQueenofHighCs Thu 15-Sep-16 17:03:15

I have no experience of this myself, (though have used coconut oil for toothache) but a friend of mine swears by it. She literally scoops it out if the tub and slathers it on her hair. Her hair is beautifully soft and shiny (and smells great) so I think it must work!

leaveittothediva Thu 15-Sep-16 18:07:37

I'm having to use it at the moment due to dry hair/breakage. It's great, I leave on overnight sometimes, other times for a few hours. Just make sure your not going anywhere, because its quite hard to get out. I buy the organic raw kind which is solid, but soon melts over a bowl of boiling water. Then just apply to your hair, massage into scalp, and down along hair, put hair up in shower cap. When ready to take out do not wet hair, get your shampoo and massage it all over like usual, then wet it and wash out. I've been doing this for a while now instead of conditioner. Went to hairdresser last week and no split ends to cut off, which has never happened. So not bad. Hope this helps.

Vixxfacee Thu 15-Sep-16 18:08:28

It's not hard to get out. Just washes out. I use it on my hair everyday as a moisturiser.

Chinks123 Thu 15-Sep-16 18:09:21

I scoop it from the jar (I need to invest in liquid coconut oil!) and literally just coat in it. I leave it on overnight and it leaves it lovely and soft and much less frizzy.

Chinks123 Thu 15-Sep-16 18:09:40

I also love it as a face moisturiser smile

Pigeonpost Thu 15-Sep-16 18:10:29