Balham/Tooting Nurseries: Grove Hall, Looking Glass and Abacus - opinions please

(4 Posts)
Noon2 Wed 12-Feb-14 16:04:56

Hi there,

I am sort of a newbie here and pregnant with my first child. I've been told to start looking at nurseries now for in a year's time... Only thing is I am new to this so don't really know what I am doing!

I have visited the above nurseries and also planning on looking at Eveline. Some of them have pretty bad Ofsted reports (averaging on 4) and my question was whether those reports should be taken with a pinch of salt?

For example, I really liked Looking Glass in Tooting. It appeared very secured and regulated, however the reports and reviews were pretty poor. Any experienced mums/dads here whose children attend this nursery?

Grove Hall is a bilingual nursery and I though it could be a good option as I am French. They seemed pretty laid back there and again Ofsted report was not good. Also looked at Stepping Stone next to Ravenstone school but Ofsted report is donkeys years old and I didn't really hit it off with the head of the nursery.

That leaves me with Abacus and Eveline which I have yet to visit but those seem to either be too expensive or the hours don't work for us....

Any advice on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
xx

Karenkong Fri 14-Feb-14 08:39:22

Hi there,

I'm visiting the nurseries as well and got some exp to share. The closest one to ours is the looking glass in tooting. to be honest, I didn't like it. The girl I talked to was very lovely, although some other girls are not very friendly, no smiles, rough attitude. The ofsted report went from 3 to 4 recently and after reading it in detail, it just proved my opinion: inconsistent behaviour in staff. And most importantly, the ofsted said that looking glass didn't meet the compulsary requirements set by childcare regulations. that is a deal breaker for me.