Note: This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards. Please feel free to report buying and selling in this topic. Thanks, MNHQ.

HELP - washing nappies (Motherease)

(12 Posts)
looneytune Sat 03-Aug-13 17:11:26

Hi

I'm new to reuseable nappies. Had 2 children in disposables and with my surprise baby, I decided to try reuseables when some kind person was giving away a load of motherease nappies on freecycle. They've all been washed and put away for a while and I started using them on my 6 week old a few days ago after seeing a YouTube video and discovering that I could use them afterall (they looked huge so thought I couldn't, didn't realise about the folding over for newborn!)

Anyway, some of these nappies were slightly stained but most were fine and yet I've just done my first wash and they are all stained :-( I'm EBF so it's the lovely bright yellow coloured poos and I did start rinsing them out and then putting in the bucket with water to soak and then I read some people put them in dry so I did a couple without rinsing first (much easier!) but all have come out the same, stained! I did a cold prewash first and then added non bio washing powder (but a smaller amount as smaller load) and put on a 60 wash. Have I gone wrong? I didn't put vanish in or anything like that as thought would be bad on this sort of stuff.

Anyone any advice or can tell me where I've gone wrong?

TIA smile

looneytune Sat 03-Aug-13 17:12:25

p.s. I have a load of boosters that pop on but from youtube clip I believe I use those once I move to the none newborn setting

runnervt Sat 03-Aug-13 17:20:06

Your washing routine sounds the same as I use. Do you use liners? I've always used fleece liners and not had a major problem with staining. Also hanging them in the sun should help get rid of the stains although that's bit feasible with every wash. Hope that helps.

looneytune Sat 03-Aug-13 17:40:34