This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Mixed cloth and disposable - is it economically sound?

(41 Posts)
Msbluesky32 Sun 07-Apr-13 18:31:25

I'm new to cloth nappies and my first DC is due...tomorrow! Im thinking about using cloth nappies because a) they feel much nicer b) I don't want to add to landfill c) id like to try and save some money. I'm contemplating using cloth during the day (probably tots bots easyfit or charlie bananas) and disposables at night. My reasons for starting the night changes in disposables is a) tiredness/ lack of experience of looking after a baby generally b) some posts I have read about reusables being less reliable at night/ needing to change night ones more frequently. Does anyone have any experience of this? Have you mixed and it worked ok? Thank you in advance!

lljkk Sun 07-Apr-13 20:01:05

Works fine, but in your title you asked about economics and I think the disps basically undermine the investment in cloth.

Like most people you'll probably need to try & see how it goes.

For what it's worth, it's older babies & tots who are more problematic in cloth; newborns poo so often that they don't get a chance to get themselves soaking wet in a nappy, so may as well do cloth at night as well to get your money's worth out of the cloth.

I used to carry 1-2 cloth spares & 2+ disp spares when out and about, that was a good mix. Rarely used the disps when out, but they weren't as bulky so easier to carry as spares.

Msbluesky32 Sun 07-Apr-13 22:22:47

lljkk you are right, my title doesn't fit the questions i ask in my whole post! I'm 39+6 today and appear to have completely lost it! Lol apols.

Thank you for replying and for your suggestions, very helpful to have the tip regarding carrying nappies out and about too.

I'm going to try reusable wipes too - I just spent a week hemming squares of micro fibre towel - so hoping they work!