Note: This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards. Please feel free to report buying and selling in this topic. Thanks, MNHQ.

gnappies, reusables and big wee issues

(19 Posts)
peasandcarrots30 Mon 21-Jan-13 20:04:17

I have a bunch of gnappies that my sister was able to get a little more cheaply for me in the U.S (lucky me!). They are really cute, easy to use and a great fit however I am not finding them very absorbent at all. I'm new to the whole re-uable thing, but want to give it a good go. However I am currently changing every 1.5/2hrs! Has anyone else has this difficulty? Should I put another lining in, if so whats more absorbent? Is my babe (20wks) just a mammoth wee-er?

stargirl1701 Tue 22-Jan-13 04:24:42

Have you tried a bamboo or hemp booster?

peasandcarrots30 Tue 22-Jan-13 10:06:31

i've avoided bamboo and hemp as I was told they would take an age to dry, my flat is already looking like window twanky's launderette ;) do you reckon thats the only way? and if so, is there a quicker drying one you would recommend?

BiscuitCrumbsInBed Tue 22-Jan-13 13:26:27

I think you probably do need a booster, I've got little lambs bamboo boosters which are nice and slim. They do take a while to dry (I give them 24 hrs on the airer then overnight in the airing cupboard - or all day on a hot radiator) I change my 18 mo every 2-3 hours, I don't know what gNappies are like but I only get about 2 hours without leaks from an all in one nappy with one microfibre insert and one bamboo. My fitted nappies (separate nappy and wrap) last more like 3 hours.

BiscuitCrumbsInBed Tue 22-Jan-13 13:28:02

The more absorbent boosters take the longest to dry, for that very reason, because they ARE so absorbent, IYSWIM?!

rrreow Tue 22-Jan-13 15:43:27