Note: This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards. Please feel free to report buying and selling in this topic. Thanks, MNHQ.

Right, I want to use reusables for this baby, but I have lots of questions!!!!! I am new to this, can anyone help?????

(29 Posts)
bumponboardagain Sat 03-Nov-12 19:24:53

Never used reusables before. Baby is due in the new year and due to finances, I am considering using washable nappies for this baby (my 3rd dc). I have a lot some questions, some of which may seem a bit stupid, but hope someone can help!! Here goes!

1. What is a good brand to use? I want something that doesnt take days to dry on the clothes airer in the house, but can also be bunged in the dryer in an emergancy! A nappy that will last, fits well and doesnt leak!!

2. How many will I need and will I need to get different sizes? What about extra bits- 'liners' and 'inserts' etc?

3. What do you do with the used nappies? Basically, how do you remove the sticky baby poo? Do they need rinsing before soaking and if so how do you rinse them? Do you just put wet nappies straight in to soak or rinse first?

4. What do you soak them in and how long for? Do they create much of an odour while soaking?

5. How often do you do a nappy wash?

Thanks for reading!

StrangeGlue Sat 03-Nov-12 19:32:51

Hi, I use wonderoos and find them good. They didn't fit leak free at first as dd had skinny legs but I've used them from 8 weeks old. People sell them second hand on eBay.

I use them in the day (I use disposables at night) and wash every 3 days so 20.

I have the birth to potty ones so only one size to buy.they come with absorbing inserts and you cam get more to add adsorbance if you start to get leaks.

you dry pall them in a nappy bucket in a net and put them in the net in the machine with half your normal amount of non bio at 60.

You put a paper liner in which catches the pooh, you then flush or bin that.