MMC - how did you "manage"?

(18 Posts)
Justwondering79 Thu 22-Sep-16 07:30:25

I've suffered a MMC, lost baby at 6 weeks, found out last night when I thought I was nearly 10.

I'm not sure how to manage it. Initially thought of surgery, worried about GA and my husband isn't keen about the "operation" aspect. I'm worried about how much bleeding there will be with the pessary and how long it will last for? I don't really want to take too much time of work, BUT I'm a teacher and can't freely or easily get to a toilet. We are also having our bathroom done at home so again, toilet access restricted during the day while the plumbers are in.

I just don't know what to do! Any advice?

metimeisforwimps Thu 22-Sep-16 07:38:59

Sorry you are going through this, I had the same thong, baby died at 8 weeks bit didn't know until 12 week scan. Initially I wanted to let the miscarraige occur naturally bit after a week or so i was finding it emotionally difficult so I asked for surgical management. I can't remember why I decided against medical management, sorry. The surgery was fine, in and out in a day, was nervous about GA but was fine. Staff very kind, relaxing day in bed! I hope that whatever you devide you get through it ok. That was my 3rd Mc, following my first little boy, and after that I had another baby, so don't lose hope!
flowers

IWillTalkToYouLater Thu 22-Sep-16 07:39:03

Im sorry you're through this.

I chose surgical management. In fact, more than once. I do not regret it, it was quick, painless (maybe a bit a achey for a few days), and gave me closure. I would recommend it, and inthe nicest possible way, this is 100% your choice, not your husbands.

flowers

eurochick Thu 22-Sep-16 07:40:14

I'm sorry you are going through this.