In need of a slap...

(12 Posts)
happyhow Sun 19-Jan-14 09:16:48

I found out on Weds that I'd most likely had a MMC. I should've been 11+6 and was measuring 6/7 weeks with no heartbeat. I'm having to wait until this weds to have another scan as the size of baby was borderline for developing a heartbeat even though I know this is physically impossible for my dates. I fully understand the reasons for having to do this but it's very frustrating when I know what the outcome will be.

So, the reason I need a slap... I'm a biology teacher and fully aware of the physiology behind pregnancy and miscarriage and teach about how you can't prevent miscarriage and it's because something had gone wrong. My logical, scientific brain is telling me this. Having been awake for 2.5hrs during the night, my tired brain is thinking of things that I've done that could've caused the miscarriage. I wasn't taking folic acid before getting pregnant and kept forgetting to buy pregnancy vitamins so was nearly 6 weeks before I started on them. Was there a neural tube defect that I could've prevented? I was also still breast feeding my soon despite knowing that could increase chances of miscarriage and it giving me cramps/making me really tired. I've had a miscarriage before and was advised by mw to stop immediately when I booked in - was 8/9 weeks by then. I was just caught up in the "must be breast fed/formula fed til age 1" stuff but he point blank refused formula.

So can I please have a slap to bring me back to logical thinking?! I KNOW it just happens and that's that.

DrSeuss Sun 19-Jan-14 09:55:13

So sorry for your loss. You did absolutely nothing wrong. You have just had the most terrible bad luck. I believe that miscarriages are Nature's way of preventing a child being born who would only suffer.
I hope you will have much happier news soon.

MrsBungle Sun 19-Jan-14 09:58:05

You don't need a slap - you need a cuddle

(((Hugs)))