Pregnancy and exercise

(14 Posts)
GGchan22 Sat 05-Oct-13 19:05:20

Hello Ladies,

I am currently a final year design student at Loughborough University, hoping to design an exercising kit for mummies during their pregnancy and shortly after, this kit will mostly base around a comfortable footwear ( replacing the lacing system, and stretchable fabric for swollen feet), other supports for the body and maybe even an app informing mums what kind of exercises will be good for the body, however this is yet to be finalize.

So I am hoping to get some opinions and answers on this subject, such as with swollen feet, what footwear do you all wear currently? how often do you exercise? will this kit be a great idea? what are the current issue with exercises so far? any ideas and issues will be much appreciated.

Thank you,
Gigi

Note: Please note this thread may be use forward as research data.

K8eee Sat 05-Oct-13 19:11:35

Hi Gigi, I'm only 16 weeks (well I am tomorrow!) and my feet haven't as of yet swollen up. I am able to still wear my normal ballet pumps. I do think though if you are looking at some form of shoe for pregnant women to exercise in I think it needs to incorporate some form of ventilation in the shoe. Skechers have this mesh material which is really nice to wear when walking, and I think a lot of other trainer brands have cottoned onto using it. Also, something supportive enough as we end up being a bit more top heavy whilst pregnant. We need to be able to balance well and know we aren't going to twist and ankle or fall over too easily. Hope that's of some help smile

Julietee Sat 05-Oct-13 19:21:05

Gigi

My main issues with exercise are the divergent opinions on what's safe. For instance, the advice to keep your heart rate below 140bpm is apparently 30 years old and out of date!

There's no source where you can find out which exercises are ok as a layperson (for instance, lunges, squats, other personal training type exercises).