This topic is specifically designed for media or other requests for information / help from Mumsnet members. We ask those organisations requesting help here to pay a fee of £30 per request as a contribution to the site (when you've typed in your request, you will automatically be taken to a WorldPay page where you can pay by credit card). Many thanks. NOTE: Mumsnet does not check the content of these requests nor verify any links posted here; we'd like to remind you that it's wise always to be cautious about disclosing any personal data.

Help needed from working mums!

(4 Posts)
MEDIA: MaddyRogers Thu 05-Sep-13 12:25:26

Dear Mumsnetters,

My name is Madeleine Rogers and I am currently studying Geography with Business at the University of Nottingham. I would love to include your views in my currents research. As part of my course in the next year I will be writing a dissertation entitled:

‘Does raising the next generation hinder the potential of Britain’s female workforce? The effect of having a family on working women’s careers’.

I hope to explore issues surrounding when to start a family, childcare choices, individual’s experience of their treatment in the workplace, attitudes to working mothers and how they are changing and managing work-life balance.

I have 5 main questions that you can either post your answers to or to just get the discussion going:

1.How did you juggle your work and childcare commitments, from maternity leave to now?

2.Did you notice a difference in the way you were treated in the workplace during this time? at child bearing age/pregnancy/return after children? In terms of new jobs, promotions, workload etc.

3.What have been the consequences of your choice for you personally, for your career, for your children, relationships etc?

4.What are your reasons for continuing your career whilst having children?