This topic is specifically designed for media or other requests for information / help from Mumsnet members. We ask those organisations requesting help here to pay a fee of £30 per request as a contribution to the site (when you've typed in your request, you will automatically be taken to a WorldPay page where you can pay by credit card). Many thanks. NOTE: Mumsnet does not check the content of these requests nor verify any links posted here; we'd like to remind you that it's wise always to be cautious about disclosing any personal data.

Help For a Design Project

(31 Posts)
EuanBright Fri 03-May-13 10:04:08

Hi, I am currently studying product design at college in Glasgow. My current project involves design a product which will make traveling with a 2 - 5 year old child easier. I must first identify an issue to solve. It would be a great help if any mums could tell me any problems or issues they have when travelling with 2-5 year olds? I.e. Not enough space in public transport, buggy not performing well or even children not doing what thier told. What is the main issue that needs resolved? Any feedback would be invaluable to my project. Thanks in advance!

Fuckwittery Fri 03-May-13 10:13:31

all of those!

I don't travel on buses very often and am never sure if there is going to be room on the bus for the buggy unfolded

I know that London buses have room for buggies, but there is never enough room for more than one, and if you have a large buggy it's tricky.

I usually try and fold the buggy before I get on in case there isn't room then I'm trying to carry buggy, toddler and watch older child as well. worse if you have a baby and toddler too!

On trains, there is rarely space to have the buggy next to a seat, so you need to leave it in a central bit by the doors, possibly getting in people's way and sit away from it. This means removing bags hung from the buggy too, as it's usually also a handy storage device for shopping and handbag as well as carrying child.