What do you eat when you're sick?

(10 Posts)

Baked sweet potato wedges?
Roast carrots?
Simple and sweet and a bit starchy. Or natural yoghurt with grated apple is good for post d and v.

Hope you feel better ASAP

snoworneahva Mon 15-Jul-13 21:35:58

Soup - carbs would give me craps and bloating - not great when you have D&V.

PineappleLump Mon 15-Jul-13 21:27:41

A couple of teaspoons of peanut butter (the Sainsburys value one is the lowest I think) - nice and savoury but not meaty. Settled my tummy a treat when I had the V&D bug a few months back

Secondsop Sun 14-Jul-13 21:31:35

I'm no doctor but it sounds a bit unlikely that bread would give you sickness and diarrhoea - sounds more like you have a bug (and possibly the one I had a week ago!). I'd eat the toast. i tried to resist carbs when i was sick but i then wasnt eating barely anything and felt worse and worse and in the end caved and ate a pizza (a proper Italian one but not that that makes it any less carby) as I was really struggling. I had a horrible first couple of days resisting the carbs and not eating and I do wish I'd just had a bowl of porridge with cream at the start and been done with it. Whilst I don't think my body needed the carbs to get better, it did need me to eat something rather than nothing.

eatyourveg Sun 14-Jul-13 13:47:54

toast with marmite on

BillComptonstrousers Sun 14-Jul-13 13:39:29

Is there a chance the bread I had yesterday will have made me sick? I've had none for 4 weeks, then had a couple of slices of ciabatta yesterday with some olive oil, I was so bloated when I went to bed, the poorly in the night.

Salty crisps or an ice pop.

LineRunner Sun 14-Jul-13 13:32:59

Heinz tomato soup, eventually.

IvanaCake Sun 14-Jul-13 13:31:58

To be honest I would just have the toast and some flat coke or lemonade to help settle your stomach.

BillComptonstrousers Sun 14-Jul-13 11:22:40