Atkins experience please? Why am I putting on weight??

(11 Posts)
FifiFerusha Tue 06-Sep-16 13:16:46

Hi all,

Just for the record I am a newbie to diets but...

Just wondered if anyone could share their successful or unsuccessful stories on the Atkins diet. I am only on day three so realise there is time yet but I have gained three pounds.

Previous I had a terrible diet, eating nothing but biscuits and coffee In the day while I chase round my toddler and stocking up on a big meal and sugar carb treats in the evening. I hoped atkins would encourage a structure. However I am seriously finding it all a bit too much food for me as I am not used to eating much in the day. Here is a typical day if I am getting it right:

Breakfast: two rashers of bacon and a one egg omelette( feel sick after it)
One coffee with soy milk and sweetener
Lunch: one chopped chicken breast with small amount of salad, two radishes and a little bit of cucumber topped with a dollop of mayonnaise.( feel sick after it)
Tea: one fillet of fish/ or tuna mayo/ or burger with mashed cauliflour with melted cheese and a small side salad( just plain)

Snacks: radishes, celery, two cheese strings.

This amount of food seems quite a lot. Surely I am suppose to be losing weight though somehow. Maybe it isn't the right diet for me. So would love to hear your experiences x x x

feekerry Tue 06-Sep-16 13:39:28

How much water are you drinking?
If it feels too much food drop the snacks? Don't force yourself to eat them. Try include more fat so butter olive oil etc.
Plus you will prob have a massive sugar crash first few days grin

BIWI Tue 06-Sep-16 13:44:03

What were you really eating before? You can't just have been existing on biscuits!

If you're doing low carb properly, you should be eating high fat, medium protein and low carb - and this will keep you full and satiated between meals.

Which will mean that you don't have to eat the snacks.