Anyone bought Orlando flights lately

(10 Posts)
MerylPeril Wed 21-Sep-16 12:24:50

We're going to Disney next year and we haven't bought the flights yet!
We got even separately last time and paid £1800 for 2 adults and a child.

DH keeps wanting to hang on in case flights drop, they've been sitting on Virgin website at £1700-1800

Through sky scanner some flights for £1500 have come up (through a flight website) - someone tell me I'm not going to do better?

From Manchester btw - DH wants to pay £1400 (he's made this number up in his head)

MerylPeril Wed 21-Sep-16 16:02:43

Annnyone?????

4yoniD Wed 21-Sep-16 16:15:07

I'm no expert but have booked FL flights a few times. For me, close to but not in school holidays, I aim for £500 a person. Less is a good price, more - not so good. So depending on your dates I'd be happy at booking at 1500 for the 3 of you.

scrappydappydoo Wed 21-Sep-16 16:24:59

That's not too bad if you are going school holidays...but you could do better.
Virgin website are always tend to be the most expensive - make sure you clear any cookies before each search as you'll be surprised what effect that can have.
Have a look at ba, and Norwegian (from Gatwick), and some of the tour operators like first choice etc
Look at other price comparison sites - kayak, Expedia, dealchecker etc
Travel city direct and charter travel can sometimes do good prices on virgin flights too
Have a look at flights to Tampa - it's only an easy hour and a bit drive from Orlando and flights can be cheaper.
Finally - think about indirect - yes direct is better but you can save loads by adding just a few hours onto the journey. For example going indirect through Dublin also means you can clear US immigration before you leave Dublin which will save you a ton of time when you get there.
Hth

MerylPeril Wed 21-Sep-16 16:35:10

Thanks i will look at all those

I wish I could persuade DH to change flights - it's so much cheaper.