Florida for a total novice

(10 Posts)
beadyboo Sat 07-May-16 14:58:36

My mum has been really poorly this year, and one of the things she's always wanted to do is a big family holiday to Florida.
Her treatment finishes at the end of summer so we've picked the May half term (we get 2 weeks) 2017 as the time to go.
None of us have ever been before, and I know absolutely nothing about it yet. I've tried to do bits of research but I'm left bewildered by the choice and options.
We want a villa as there will be 6 adults, 3 kids (10, 8 & 3) and a baby. We're also going to get 2 people carrier type cars.
Which parks would you recommend, which area should we focus our search on, and should we invest in all these park tickets or pay as we get there (I'm not sure you can even do this?)
Thanks for your help.

mummymeister Sat 07-May-16 15:44:13

you have plenty of planning time so my advice is buy the books WDW with kids and beyond WDW with kids. best thing we ever did. really helps to narrow down where to stay, what to see etc. also there is a website called the DIBB. start with these and it should help make it less confusing.

Willow2016 Sat 07-May-16 19:35:27

Hi have you been on 'the dibb' website? Its full of info about orlando. written by people in tbe know and who have bern with recomendations etc and the advice there is to but your park tickets obeforen ticket sites not disney or universal sites before you go as much cheaper. Getting the two week tickets is apparently cheaper than paying at the gates on odd days which is what I am doing. I am total novice to this too and it's been great help.

MelanieCheeks Sat 07-May-16 19:39:10

You've made a good start - a villa, and 2 cars is definitely the way to go!

I would buy tickets in advance, one less thing to worry about.

Try to have a rough schedule, interspersing hectic park days with less demanding ones (will your villa have a pool?)

One Disney park a day is manageable, 2 separate days for Universal.