Australia July 2015

(14 Posts)
indyandlara Tue 20-May-14 22:03:45

We are thinking about a 3 week holiday in Australia in July 2015. I am a teacher so completely tied to school holidays. We went at this time in 2008 but would be travelling with my daughter who will be 6 this time.

When are flights for July 2015 released? Costs for this July are eye watering but I am hoping this is because I am only looking 2 months out! Any guidance about flight price etc would be really appreciated. Also, stopovers or not? I thought that stopover would be a must but friends are saying no. We didn't stop other than refuelling last time but it was hard going.

verybadhairdoo Tue 20-May-14 22:19:34

where abouts are you going, it could be absolutely freezing in July!

indyandlara Wed 21-May-14 07:48:52

Sydney then Cairns most probably.

Hazchem Wed 21-May-14 07:51:42

The plane are refueled somewhere but normally you get off and change planes so the stop over can be as little as an hour. How long depends on the airline and what time your flight lands into Australia.

mumtoothree Thu 22-May-14 21:42:53

Hi. We have not long booked for feb next year and flights were released about 10-11 mths before. We actually booked through Expedia in nz as flights were so much cheaper (saved £700 even after bank charges). We are flying out with emirates via Dubai then returning Melbourne to Singapore (6 hours in transit but lots to do) with Qantas, then Singapore to Dubai with emirates (1.5 hour in transit) then Dubai to heathrow with Qantas. Although the return sounds horrendous it does mean each flight is reduced to 7 hours and the £700 saved is a big sum of money to us. Our kids will be 14, 10 and 7.

Hazchem Thu 22-May-14 23:38:48

If you are transiting in singapore there is an excellent shower room. Quite cheap to use they have towels shampoo, hairdryers etc. makes an amazing difference to how you feel when you get to the final destination.

Onykahonie Sat 24-May-14 12:30:27