Hawaii - what island?

(14 Posts)
Screamqueen Sun 27-Oct-13 14:05:56

We had our dream holiday this year (as in planned for about 10 years!) to California, its been the only place int he world I had always wanted to go and I'm looking forward to going back to France next year like we usually do...however DH has surprised me by stating he fancies Hawaii so before I book France I thought I would do some research. I do realize its a long flight (we are in Glasgow) but I'm a complete novice as I didn't even realise it was made up of different island thlblush.

So my questions is what are the different islands like and when is the best time to go? It would be me, DH and DSs who would be 6 and 12. We like beaches, travelling around exploring a bit, things to do for the kids as well as relaxing obviously!

msrisotto Sun 27-Oct-13 16:19:36

You can look up the weather but it's steadily 30 degrees year round.

Hawaii sounds perfect for you because there is beach and fun stuff to do. I stayed on Oahu but only because I didn't know any better at the time. If i was to do it again, I would go to the volcano national park as well. They say to do one island a week at most, however it is a long trip so if you don't feel like travelling more then there is more than enough to keep you occupied on Oahu.You do need to hire a car otherwise you will miss out.
I recommend looking on Frommers website and trip advisor for tips.

Screamqueen Sun 27-Oct-13 17:58:41

Thanks msrtisotto, thats helpful! smile. Quite excited now looking into this!

Hawaii is indeed a chain of islands in the middle of the Pacific ocean.