We're going to Bali and Singapore - any tips (oh and Squeeeeeeeee!)

(21 Posts)
NormaSpoonOeufEggcher Tue 09-Apr-13 22:55:12

We are out there in late July/early August. Family wedding so first week in Bali, then second week in Singapore. In Bali we will be in Seminyak. In Singapore, we will be in Singapore.

I am hugely excited. This is a big deal for us, and it is my first time out or Europe, and the first time on a plane for the kids. I am burning most of the rest of my leave, and it is costing a small fortune.

Accomodation is sorted.

So, There is me, DH, DS1(24), DS2(13), DD(6 going on 7)

What should we do, see, etc? Should we hire a car in Bali?

Thanks in advance.

Bartlebee Tue 09-Apr-13 23:09:47

Wow, lucky you!

Kuta in Bali is pretty horrid. If you get a chance to visit lovina, I would. We did a great boat trip as the sun came up to see dolphins. I have never seen so many in my life, it was amazing & the snorkelling there was great too.

Singapore is very interesting. Obv Orchard rd if shopping's your thing & Haji lane is great. Geylang for fab food, botanic gardens are gorgeous. The zoo is a must, imo. Their version of the London eye is worth doing (can't remember the name) & it's touristy, but I still love to have a Singapore Sling at the Long Bar of the Raffles hotel.

And the airport is possibly the best in the world!

NormaSpoonOeufEggcher Tue 09-Apr-13 23:17:30

Oh thank you Bartle thanks

The bride and groom live in Singapore so I have heard about the Botanic gardens.

The boat trip sounds fabulous.

infin Wed 10-Apr-13 08:40:03

In Bali, try to fit in a trip to Ubud. It's great for shopping and there's lots of lovely places to eat. There are also some beautiful walks through the paddy fields which are right next to town. If you like monkeys the monkey forest is very popular but beware, they are super confident examples of the species!