single parent houseshare

(285 Posts)
Lauree Mon 12-Apr-10 15:08:19

I'm a single mum (40 something) with a six year old boy in central London. I'm a professional woman working four days a week, living in central London. I'd like to find another single parent to share with... and help each other out with the ups and downs of parenting.

contact me if you think you might be interested.

gillybean2 Mon 12-Apr-10 15:22:04

When you say share do you mean house share? Child care share? Or simply someone with who you can share your trials and tribulations as single parents; to have a friend who understands your situation and be there to give each other moral support and friendship?

Lauree Tue 13-Apr-10 21:36:23

I was thinking of house share. I normally have a lodger, but I was thinking that it might be a good thing to share the house with another single parent and child.

Pronoia Tue 13-Apr-10 21:38:00

I've always thought (as a single parent) that if you have the room for this, it could be a wonderful solution to babysitting dilemmas and loneliness.

Meglet Thu 15-Apr-10 22:02:16

I read an article about this last year in the Guardian IIRC. 2 mums both with little girls and they seemed to have a whale of a time.

Jolly good idea IMO as long as there are house rules and everyone is organised.

nappyaddict Sat 17-Apr-10 01:13:17

Anyone looking for a lodger in the West Midlands area?

mogs0 Sat 17-Apr-10 19:58:44

I would love this type of arrangement. When I lived in London I found it incredibly difficult to find a landlord who would accept me as a single parent. I see lots of pros!

mustrunmore Sat 17-Apr-10 20:02:07

Its a great idea! In the unlikely event of both myself and my best friend becoming single parents, we would def move in together. I can see distinct advantages to doing it anyway, and letting the dh's have the other property grin