Fiance left me an 8 week old dd

(16 Posts)
Caipoja Mon 19-Oct-15 17:04:04

So my fiance walked out on us today, we live in a rented house and he paid the rent and bills, I paid for weekly food shops and dd's nappies, clothes and other expenses. I am a student on maternity leave and the income I receive doesn't even cover the rent. I feel really bad for dd i want the best for her and i wanted her to have a happy family life, and i worry how i can provide for her now sad. I really need some advice on where I go from here? How do lone parents manage financially?

BaronessEllaSaturday Mon 19-Oct-15 17:13:00

When you say you are a student on maternity leave what exactly do you mean? What money do you have coming in. A non working lone parent would be able to claim Income Support, child tax credits, housing benefit and council tax relief. Without knowing your situation though I wouldn't be able to advise. Oh and you need to ensure he pays maintenance for your dd.

Lurkedforever1 Mon 19-Oct-15 17:28:26

Get to the citizens advice bureau asap. Unlike the benefits office they will give you accurate advice of anything you will get. Ring the local housing benefit in the morning, or apply on line. That's done on income, same for council tax help. Even though you don't know what you're income actually is, you can put on the amounts you know about with a note saying you're applying as your partner has left and you don't know what, if any, benefits and maintenance you'll get, and you'll update them when you do. There's normally a wait on it anyway, so better to get the application in and then amend it, than wait till you have the numbers.

If you are receiving maternity pay above income support levels you are unlikely to get anything on top for you. But if you aren't already you should get the full child tax credit amount too. And of course speak to your partner about his contribution.

growflowers Mon 19-Oct-15 17:28:53