Depressed with my life

(6 Posts)
sunshine247 Tue 25-Feb-14 21:53:07

I have two beautiful children but just don't feel like I can give them the life they deserve no matter how hard I try.

I work part time in retail and have applied to re-train as a nurse but juggling work and childcare is already a struggle and doing shift work will be a nightmare as I have very little support so I don't know if that's going to work out.

I am determined to earn a better salary and give my kids a better future however I always hit a brick wall whenever I try to progress in life as I struggle to do everything by myself (which is impossible) and feel that I am never going to amount to anything.

As a result I smoke a lot and have got myself in a lot of debt by gambling hoping for that one chance of luck to win big and secure a comfortable future for my family.

Each day I am getting more depressed with my life and feel to just run away and hide hoping my problems will go away, its only because of my kids why I struggle to carry on each day.

The few friends I have are lucky to have family to help with childcare or are content being on benefits which is something that I do not want to do and I don't feel comfortable speaking to my family as I am embarrassed about the situation I am in.

I have considered asking my kids dad to have them for a period of time (maybe 6 months) so I can work and sort out all my debt as well as try to save for their future but I don't know if I could bare to be away from them for so long.

Sorry for ranting on I just needed to write how I am feeling and hope to receive some helpful advice.

Thanks for reading.

Minime85 Tue 25-Feb-14 22:01:27

didn't want to read and run but not sure I have the right advice...have u tried the CAB re the debt and helping you to sort things out? have u seen GP re depression? you truely sound like you are trying to do your best by dcs. its ok to say you need help .