Moving to Jersey advice on where to live please!

(12 Posts)
ejvs Fri 31-Jan-14 18:51:52

My partner has been offered a job in Jersey and will be starting next month. myself and my DD ( not his DD) have decided to go with him. I am a nurse so hopefully will get a part time job without too much trouble. The thing is I don't know Jersey at all and I am not sure where we should be looking to live. I am also interested in primary schools for my DD who is in Yr 1. Any advice or thoughts on this would be very welcome.

greenglasses Sun 02-Feb-14 09:50:32

Hi

I live in Jersey. Hope I can help a little! Will your DP be working in St Helier? Have you any preference re urban/rural areas? Any limits on his/your commute time? Obviously on a 9 by 5 mile island no commute is huge but you would really need cars if you lived in some parishes.

Will your DP be getting an 'essential employee' license do you know? It makes a difference as to which properties you're allowed to live in (you probably know this already!). Any preference re private or state schools?

Ememem84 Sun 02-Feb-14 09:59:39

Also in jersey. Have lived here all my life. Schools are generally better than uk. Food clothes etc are more expensive.

I honestly wouldn't want to live anywhere else though. You're never more than 20 minutes away from the sea. The weather is good (even in winter it rarely snows). It's beautiful.

You wil need a car to make the most of it though.

ejvs Sun 02-Feb-14 20:34:40

Hi,
We will both be working in St Hellier and my DP has got his licence. We both have cars but really don't want more than a 15 min commute. I would prefer state school for my DD, purely for financial reasons. We have spent the weekend here and I go home tomorrow. It's my first visit and I have really enjoyed it! X

greenglasses Mon 03-Feb-14 09:31:21