Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Inheritance?

(7 Posts)
primitivemom Sun 21-Aug-16 23:58:32

Hi all, I wonder if someone can help. A family member ( grandparent) has indicated they might be leaving me a substantial inheritance in the event of their death, but they gave 3 children who they are no contact with and don't want to include in their will. My mother and aunts have said they can contest an inheritance left to me as its their 'right' is this true? If so what is the point of my grandparents having a will to begin with? Many thanks.

agapanthii Mon 22-Aug-16 00:11:24

I'm not an expert... But I understood they would only have a right to contest a will if they were actually dependent on the money already. Eg a spouse or child living with and financially supported by the deceased . A child who has no contact is not a 'dependent'.

FrancisCrawford Mon 22-Aug-16 00:18:54

inheritance laws vary greatly from country to country so it would be helpful to know which country is your GF resides in. Also, does he have a spouse who is likely to survive him - under Scots law this could impact on his bequests

primitivemom Mon 22-Aug-16 00:31:17

We are in Scotland. Yes has a spouse who agrees with the will. I think it's a joint one. My mother and aunt don't take much to do with them but they have said they will contest any inheritance that's left to me hmm

cexuwaleozbu Mon 22-Aug-16 06:32:05