Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Thinking of going back to college - is there any finacial help we can get?

(48 Posts)
Dandansmummy Tue 07-Jun-16 19:34:12

Hi everyone, I am new to this so please bear with me!

The long and sort of my question/worry is that I am wanting to go back to college in September to complete a 1 year Support in Teaching and Learning Certificate Level 3, my current employer (a secondary school where I am the receptionist) will not support me in this so I will have to had my notice in so I can have time to go out on placement and find a part-time job. The college will not know what the time table is until we start in September so I cant arrange a part-time job before then as i dont know when I will be able to work. Me and my husband got married this last August, and we are in the process of buying our house, he works full time bringing in approx 18k, my son will start nursey 5 mornings a week in September but will be with a childminder if i have to be at work. I am worried that there will at least be a few months where I am out of work while i am studying, and was wondering if anyone else had been in a similar situation? If so is there any thing we can claim for while I am studying to relieve some of the financial strain? I am doubting whether i will even be able to go back to college as the situation looks so dire, but it is what i want to do and have a passion for, on top of that if i stay where i am/ in the same kind of role i am going to be earning the same money forever, where as for the sake of a 1 year course and some hardship i could be on a lucrutive career path! I hope this makes sense and there is some one out there who can offer some advice, it would be much appreciated! xxx

bluecarpet Wed 08-Jun-16 09:10:04