Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Warning to all on line shoppers - not a joke!!

(67 Posts)

If you shop on line with supermarkets or others who store your card details - think again!!

Like many regular posters, I have been using on line shopping for groceries for 2-3 years ....

My card details were stored for ease of use, and the ocado website simply charged my card with no input needed from me....

Then my account got hacked and it's apparently all my problem... They won't cancel a fraudulent order for £2k even though it hasn't been delivered and I have had to cancel my card and will now have the fun of sorting out the mess with my card provider, sorting out all the other stuff that will get messed up by this and being without cards for the next 2 weeks...

Please think about this - delete your card details and don't save them....

And consider switching to companies that verify card details for every transaction....

Bakeoffcake Sun 03-Jan-16 21:05:49

That's dreadful. I never store my card details on websites for that reason.

Where did the £2k of food go to?

It hasn't gone anywhere yet...

I spotted it before the order changes cut off but Ocado won't cancel it - they will only "pass it on" to their finance team for them to look into...

AnchorDownDeepBreath Sun 03-Jan-16 21:16:38

That's just a precaution - the finance team will review how the order was placed (checking if it was on the same device/in the same location as you usually are, how many log-in attempts were made, if they got access through an API, if Verified by Visa was used, etc).

They will then cancel the order and change your Ocado password, once they've verified that it wasn't you. They usually remove all associated card details as long as there are no legit outstanding orders, too.