Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Updated my address and credit rating plummeted. Any advice?

(14 Posts)
CelestialGreen Fri 22-May-15 19:43:10

Any advice at all gratefully received!

I'm hoping to move house and apply for a mortgage in the next six months. I've never applied for a mortgage before and so only new to the concept of credit rating housekeeping and going about making sure it's all in good order.

I was a postgraduate student for many years and moved around a lot, so kept my bank details at my parents' house which was still 'home', rather than change details with every new lot of student digs (with people coming and going and me not wanting my bank letters getting sent there if I moved). I thought I was being sensible!

I then graduated (4 years ago) moved again and started a permanent job, but still never changed my bank address details as I'd long got into the habit of keeping it registered to my home (parents'g address, it was still 'home', so it didn't even occur to me to change it.

Anyway - now I realise the importance of having everything watertight, so I've updated my bank details and addresses on Experian, and my credit eating has now plummeted, due to one 'negative score factor'. It says I 'do not have enough historic revolving credit account data available to calculate a balance trend'.

I have never had a late payment, nothing. My credit score before was 984 (Excellent) and it's now gone to 869 (Fair).

Does anyone have any thoughts about how I can improve this and how long it might take?

Am a bit worried! sad

CelestialGreen Fri 22-May-15 21:10:28

Wee bump

spuduk1982 Fri 22-May-15 21:53:52

Your 'credit rating' is a made up number concocted by a marketing company who use it to get you to spend money.

Ignore it

CelestialGreen Fri 22-May-15 21:55:55