Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

How long for child maintenance under the new rules? Anyone used it yet?

(1 Post)
Takebackcontrol Sun 29-Jun-14 18:46:21

Hi Ladies, I'm a newbie and posted last month about my financially abusive husband. Together 7 years, married 1.5 years, 2 children - 7 & 5. I posted this under relationships but have been advised that it might generate more of a discussion under money matters.

I'm proud to say in the last month and with your advice, I've managed to contact Women's Aid, also a recommended solicitor regarding occupation orders (if he doesn't let me back in for stuff when I leave), applied for working/child tax credit and a council house application (just in case) all at my lovely friend's address (where I'll be staying when we go). I've secretly managed to view rentals while friends have the kids, I've begun moving items (particularly important/sentimental stuff) into my friends garage and I've talked agents and landlords into considering the dreaded DSS! I'm a small business owner and have never been made to feel proud of this but apparently the agents think it's a wonderful positive to this situation.