Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Anyone out there opted out of their company pension?

(35 Posts)
Millie3030 Mon 23-Jun-14 21:52:46

Hi,

I I'm a teacher and have been paying into my pension for 7 years. It costs over £200 a month for the pension and I have to work until I'm 68 to see any of my pension money.

Sounds morbid but my nan died at 65, my mum at 59, I really don't think I'm going to live to see that pension money. Has anyone opted out of he pension and just enjoyed the money now, whilst they are young and have a family and can benefit now??

I feel like I'm saving for a rainy day that I may never see, £2400 a year is a holiday my family could go on every year! I know there are tax deductions so it won't be as much as that, but it's still more every month whilst I'm young ish (30) that could make a difference.

TalkinPeace Mon 23-Jun-14 22:16:30

You are a teacher.

You would be UTTERLY MAD to leave the scheme.
If you were to die young there is a huge lump sum "death in service" benefit that would look after your kids
your DH will get half your pension if you die young

you need to URGENTLY read up on the terms of your scheme
but basically DB schemes like yours are like gold dust. HOLD ON TO IT WHILE YOU CAN

trixymalixy Mon 23-Jun-14 22:18:55

NO NO NO!!!! You would have to be seriously off your trolley to give up a teacher's pension!!!! Please I implore you, don't even consider doing this, I would kill for a pension like yours!

Heatherbell1978 Mon 23-Jun-14 23:17:51