Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

partner said he'd rather go on holiday than get married

(138 Posts)
Deenamumof1 Sat 15-Mar-14 13:49:49

Hi im new to this, so bare with me.
recently me and my partner have been talking about getting married in 2018, we set a date without paying a deposit. But recently his parents have mentioned goingmon holiday to orlando for 3 weeks, im from the uk and flights to Orlando at the moment are are £3000 for me my partner and my son. I told my parner we need to decide wether we save for the wedding or America, he said he'd rather America, im a little upset as I really want to marry him hes an amazing father and I really love him, I just wish he wanted to marry me as much as I want to marry him. Im deverstated we have to say goodbye to the wedding sad just want someone to talk to

But weddings can be super cheap. Registry office, simple dress, etc.

maybe he would rather fork out ££££ s for a holiday than one day? Doesnt mean he doesnt want the marriage, just that he would rather spend a lot of money elsewhere.

has he proposed?

IslaValargeone Sat 15-Mar-14 13:52:36

You can still get married, that's not expensive, it only becomes pricey when it becomes an all singing all dancing wedding.
Is it the marriage or the wedding you both want?
Have a very low key 'wedding' and make Orlando the honeymoon perhaps?

Marriage does not equal wedding. They are different things! Wedding is a day long party, marriage is a contract.

You can get married withs simple, tiny wedding, and then fly off to the US.

Basically, get married if that is shat you both eant, and thdn choose between big wedding party or big trip!

scarletforya Sat 15-Mar-14 13:56:42

I'd rather a holiday than a wedding to.I'd consider a wedding a waste of money.