Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications, experience, or professional insurance of anyone posting on Mumsnet and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Eek! Could someone answer a question for me about dividend tax?

(17 Posts)
writingquestion Sun 01-Dec-13 19:13:38

I run a small limited company and this is my first year of trading. I'm trying to work out my tax position. This first year is a bit unusual because I have had a salary this year (as a self employed contractor) of about £45k. Clearly I pay income tax on this at higher rate. Does this then mean I can't benefit from the dividend tax position? So if I pay myself a dividend of £32,010 is the dividend tax rate on this still 10 percent (reduced to zero because of the tax credit) or is it treated though I'm a higher rate tax payer and taxed at the 32.5 rate (reduced to 22.5 because of the tax credit)

I've just read two completely conflicting articles on the internet. First says I can earn (in salary) my personal allowance of £9440 each year plus the £32010k i.e. I can earn £41,450 without tax. Other seems to imply they are offset so if I earned salary of £9440 I can only take £22570 as a dividend (at 10 percent with a tax credit of 10 percent) so effectively £32,010 without tax.

I am aware by the way that I have to pay 20 percent corporation tax too.

I will have an accountant involved but am just trying to work out roughly what my income is likely to be.

writingquestion Sun 01-Dec-13 19:35:02

Hmm think I'm being stupid here now that I've read the HMRC website.

tax efficient route is personal allowance in salary plus rest in dividends right? so effectively because of the corporation tax I pay 20 percent on the chunk from £9440-£41450 (the same as if I just took it as salary). So the saving comes on the NI.

Anyone know if this is this right?