Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Has anyone backdated flat rate VAT claim?

(6 Posts)
pippaconsidine Thu 14-Nov-13 14:33:43

I'm a freelance journalist and have been advised to backdate my invoices for 4 years. One of my employers is fine with this, the other is spooked and I can't see why. I think he's concerned that re-presenting invoices will get the VAT man on his back asking questions and no-one wants that. It could mean an extra £10 K to me, which is the equivalent of SIX MONTHS WORK, so I'm very eager to make it happen.

Anyone else had this situation? Any advice gratefully received

TheTruffleHunter Thu 14-Nov-13 14:44:17

We realised that we would be better of on a flat rate after 2 years trading and asking HMRC if we could back date even the last quarter and were told no. Sorry.

Why would you be advised to backdate your invoices for 4 years tho?

JustAnotherFucker Thu 14-Nov-13 14:50:52

You can't usually get a refund of Vat on the FRS.

You pay a fixed % of turnover instead of calculating input & out put tax separately.

There are exemptions for capital assets over a certain cost but if you are due for a refund of vat for whatever reason, then FRS is probably not right for you.

Can you clarify exactly what you mean by Vat claim - it's generally a two-way tax.

I think we need to know why you have been advised to backdate invoices - I can see why employers would find this an unusual request...

riksti Thu 14-Nov-13 19:08:07