Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications, experience, or professional insurance of anyone posting on Mumsnet and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Anyone know about car insurance?

(16 Posts)
ProtegeMoi Tue 22-Oct-13 20:30:39

Hoping someone can please advise me, we are really stuck.
Sorry it's long i'm trying to get all the facts across.

I'm a new driver (just over a year) and bought a new car 4 weeks ago at which point I took out a new insurance policy, the car was £1000, the insurance £1400, typical for new drivers.

I had an accident last week and the insurance company took my car, they informed me today that it is a write off. The accident is my fault.

Now I know I will lose my no claims (only 1 year) and I know my insurance will go up but I cannot afford a new car and rely on it heavily as I have a disabled child.

I was under the impression that the insurance would pay me for the value off the car minus my £100 excess so £900 and then my insurance policy continues and I add the new car that I buy with the pay out onto it.

However someone has just told me that my policy will be cancelled and I will have to pay the remaining insurance. Checking the website of my insurer this seems correct.

So basically they will owe me £900, but there is £1200 owing on the policy still meaning I will owe them £300 PLUS I will lose my no claims bonus and pay higher insurance for the next 5 years.

Please, please tell me this isn't right!

I'll be worse off then had I never claimed, the scrap value of the car is £200 so if I had not claimed and scrapped it I lose £800 but still have my no claims, whereas this way I lose £1300 and my no claims. What's the point having insurance if this is how it works?