Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications, experience, or professional insurance of anyone posting on Mumsnet and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Huge Joint Debts After Separation - What to do? :(

(20 Posts)
Tigerlily14 Tue 12-Mar-13 19:27:08

Hi

Am so sorry you are having to deal with this, money worries are so hard.

I am a solicitor. I'm not practising at the minute as at home with my two little ones but hopefully I can still help you.

The first thing I would advise is that you need a decent solicitor to represent your partner. This issue is unlikely to be resolved without legal intervention and by delaying matters your partner is risking his own financial security. I know it is a bit financial burden on top of the mortgage and loan repayments but it will be cheaper in the long run.

Don't go for the cheapest one you can find unless you think that they will be able to offer a good service as most solicitors charge by the hour and you get what you pay for. Someone who may seen cheaper on paper may not be as good or efficient as a more expensive lawyer and actually end up costing you more in the long run. Try to go on recommendation if you can and ask to meet with the person you are considering before instructing them so you can suss them out!