Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Police report leads to Social services/council involved?

(13 Posts)
Aleahim82 Fri 29-Jan-16 13:25:10

Hi everyone this is my first time posting here but I always found great advice before just by reading the site ! I'm new to this kind of stuff so please if someone can answer my questions as I am very concerned.
Long story short, my husband and I had our last serious argument which ended up with me reporting him to the police for the first time. My reporting to the police was my final cry of help in dealing with an emotionally and verbally abusive and controlling husband - never physically. The report ended without any consequences for him, he wasn't arrested but I am in contact with victim support to help me deal with this in the best interest for me and our two children but also for him, I don't want him arrested, I just want separation. Today he messaged me saying he doesn't want to live anymore and because he didn't answer my calls for more than two hours I contacted the police again to ask for help, as I don't want anything bad to happen to him or for him to hurt himself. He eventually called back and he is ok, asking for forgiveness again and things like that..
My question is : with these issues between us, police being involved now, should I be worried about social services getting involved? We have our 2 boys that live with us in the same house and they have never been abused or anything by my husband no matter how bad things got between me and him. If the social services do get involved what should I expect?
Thank you so much for helping me on this!

BeagBoo Fri 29-Jan-16 13:28:07

I can't answer with certainty but the fact that you are protecting yourself and kids by pushing forth with separation will go hugely in your favour. Well done OP. X

aginghippy Fri 29-Jan-16 13:42:25