Mumsnet has not checked the knowledge, experience or professional qualifications of anyone posting on Mumsnet Talk and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. If you have any serious legal concerns, we would suggest you consult a lawyer.

Maintenance agreement when NRP moves abroad (EU).

(7 Posts)
kirsty75005 Mon 21-Oct-13 07:32:12

I'm not a lawyer but the following webpage :

http://www.service-public.fr/actualites/001721.html

has a file on it that contains the Justice Ministry's suggestions for what child maintenance per child should be in a "normal" case. Note that this is a guidance to magistrates, not a rule : magistrates may vary it for individual circumstances (and yours are quite special).

If I've rightly understood, you have only one child and your ex has a "reduced" contact schedule, so on this file they suggest a starting point of maintenance of 18% of (income -483) euros per month.

babybarrister Colombia Sun 20-Oct-13 20:54:21

Everything I have read has always led me to believe child maintenance is lower in France - I would advise you take French legal advice

Bonsoir Sun 20-Oct-13 18:30:58

Child support will not necessarily be lower in France. France is bad news for women on divorce but not for DC.

Notsoskinnyminny Sun 20-Oct-13 18:21:36

The REMO process takes a while but I'm glad I stuck with it, even when he started making voluntary payments nothing to do with the threat of his driving licence being revoked for non-payment. My court order states payments continue until the youngest finishes their first degree and after a small hiccup payments have resumed.

babybarrister Colombia Fri 18-Oct-13 14:25:58

You need to get on with it ASAP as there is a jurisdictional convention between the UK and France meaning that whoever issues first gets jurisdiction. Maintenance will be a lot lower in France so it is in your interest to get it sorted ....

mumsforjustice Thu 17-Oct-13 20:05:25